Audience Of One

There is one sentence God keeps whispering in my ear, “Who are you dancing for?”  (Please note – this dance is not about Zumba – more like the dance of Life).   When we were on our way to PA for vacation I mentioned I keep hearing that over and over and was trying to figure it out.  What does that mean?  I dance for you God – right?  
 
My husband planned a detour to visit a really cool book store and

when I walked in this book 

was on a shelf staring back at me….I am hearing Dance for ME Only.  Say yes to me.  Tell them no.  Who?  Why? What for?

Then later that week at our “What Happens When Women Say Yes” by Lysa TerKeurst Bible Study, the question was describe a time when you said yes to God or describe what you feel God is asking you to say yes to?   I hadn’t planned to say this but what came out was I feel like God is telling me to say yes to Him by telling everyone else NO.  Sometimes, I just can’t say No and I stay so busy and he is saying BE STILL and move when I say move.  Otherwise, NO.  

At first, I thought it was just a few things.  Saying no to those few things would certainly make a difference – besides I don’t enjoy them that much anyway.  But wait, it’s more?  Even the stuff I really enjoy?  Especially the stuff I enjoy!  So, I have a few commitments to fulfill for the next 6 weeks or so, and then a new six weeks will start.  A six weeks that will be my life with God, my husband and children, and work.  

 
He is preparing me to be ready for it.  I don’t like being alone.  I don’t like saying no.  I don’t like quiet.
 

I am getting verses and words spoken to me that confirm this message.   My life has been more than I can handle lately.  I’ve arrived at a place where there is a fork in the road and the one He’s calling me to seems very quiet and lonely.  Yet, my life has been so crazy lately I am ready to take that turn. I hear Him woo me,   “You  have to rely on my strength now, but just wait until there is nothing to do.  Wait until my strength is about breathing, and sleeping, and pondering, and engaging.  Wait until you find me in the quiet.  in the peace.  I have always been with you in the hustle, in the madness.  Wait til you really taste peace… Wait until you feel real joy!” 


I long for it and I am scared to death at the same time.  Who am I dancing for?  Jesus.  Just Jesus.  Show me how Lord. 




…and when the time is right for me to walk out on stage and that bright light will shine on me – the light that is so bright I can only see that one chair in the room – and I will dance, and He will join me.  and I will know.  just. me. no clapping, no roses, no praise.  Just peace from my audience of one.  Smiles people will never see or know about because it will be just US.

1 Thessalonians 4:1 (The Message) 
You’re God-Taught

One final word, friends.  We ask you – urge is more like it – that you keep on doing what we told you to do to please God, not in a dogged religious plod, but in a living, spirited dance. 




One thought on “Audience Of One

  1. B.R.A.V.E. I know how hard you work to be brave. Courage to do it when it isn't easy. I just think it is so beautiful. I know when you walk on the stage you will be dancing for ONE…. Please know I will be cheering…. Simply because I love you as you are…… My brave, beautiful, funny, smart, talented, fabulous friend….. I can't wait for the next part of your journey… What a privelege …..you inspire…….<3

    Like

Leave a comment

