Broken

I had a dream last night that I was somewhere like Starbucks and everyone was sitting around with their laptops open enjoying coffee and technology.  As I stood in line, I could see this guy’s screen and he was blogging.  I could not read the words from where I was standing but I could see as he typed different colors, fonts, pictures etc would show up on the screen.  This is what it looked like as he typed…

I walked towards him and asked him, “how did you get it to do that???”   He said, “it is a new font – you should try it.  It’s called BROKEN.”  Instantly our eyes connected and I said, “oh, you too?” nodding my head slowly.


And then, I woke up.  


I could not read the words he had written but we were “speaking the same language” while all of the other glowing screens looked the same… uniform – black and white and not messy.  His screen was messy, colorful, bright, crooked, swirly and full of doodling.   Different.  Beautiful. 

Sometimes, I think when our focus is putting our best ‘font’ forward – we miss the beauty in being real…so much that we miss seeing it in others and we feel really alone.  As we “light up the darkness!” and let some of that ‘broken’ show – we start to recognize it in others too.  We realize we are not alone.  We find our story. 

2 Corinthians 4:6      The Message (MSG)
Remember, our Message is not about ourselves; we’re proclaiming Jesus Christ, the Master. All we are is messengers, errand runners from Jesus for you. It started when God said, “Light up the darkness!” and our lives filled up with light as we saw and understood God in the face of Christ, all bright and beautiful.

 

One thought on “Broken

Leave a comment

